WIUM Tristates Public Radio

Congratulations to our Giving Tuesday Underwriting Grant Winners!

This year for Giving Tuesday we asked YOU, our listeners, to nominate your favorite non-profits to received $500 in underwriting.  You responded with 70 total nominations and 23 different organizations. Thank you!

The recipients of this year's award are The Capitol Theater of Burlington Iowa and The Southeastern Community College Foundation.  Both organizations will receive grants of $500 in underwriting from Tri States Public Radio.

The Capitol Theater of Burlington Iowa
Located in the heart of downtown Burlington, the restored Burlington Capitol Theater recaptures an ear when movies and live entertainment were enjoyed in beautiful and unique theaters.  The 1937 Art Deco jewel re-opened in 2012.  The intimate 355-seat venue, alone with its reception and gallery annex, hots independent and classic films as well as local, regional and national touring artists.

The Southeastern Community College Foundation
The SCC Foundation was established in 1982 for the purpose of attracting, collecting and dispersing funds to support Southeastern Community College and the students and communities it serves. The SCCF serves as the fundraising arm of the college and recently met a $27 million dollar capitol campaign fundraising goal. Its assets are overseen by a 25 member regional board that provides over $350,000 annually in scholarships and grants from 150 separate accounts to more than 500 student recipients.

Full list of 2018 nominations

American Music Festival
Buchanan Center for the Arts
Burlington Civic Music Association
Burlington Fine Arts League
Capitol Theater of Burlington Iowa
Des Moines County Historical Society
Genesis Garden
Hoerner YMCA
McDonough County Animal Shelter
Nova Singers
Prairie Land Conservancy
Rand Park Pavilion Commission
Schuyler County Humane Society
Snake Alley Festival of Flim
Southeastern Community College Alumni Association
Southeastern Community College Art Collectors Club
Southeastern Community College Foundation
Spoon River College Foundation
The Jamieson Community Center
The Orpheum Theatre
Western Illinois Museum
Western Illinois Regional Council