WIUM Tristates Public Radio

June 5th Primary to Feature Several Contested State/Federal Races in Southeast Iowa

Mar 19, 2018

Hundreds of candidates from across Iowa claimed their spots on the June 5th primary ballot by filing their nominating petitions on or before the March 16 deadline. The result is that southeast Iowa residents will have plenty of decisions to make at the polls with some crowded fields up and down the ballot.

The deadline to file for County Office is March 26.

State/Federal Candidate List (Filing Deadline - March 16)

Iowa House of Representatives

District 83 (Portion of Lee County)

  • Jeffrey Reichman (R)
  • Michael Hardy (D)
  • Jeff Kurtz (D)
  • Bob Morawitz (D)

**State Rep. Jerry Kearns (D-Keokuk) is retiring after 10 years in office**

District 84 (Henry, Portions of Lee, Jefferson & Washington Counties)

  • Martin Amos (R)
  • Trevor Lynn (R)
  • Sheila Matheney (R)
  • Joe Mitchell (R)
  • Jason Moats (D)

**State Rep. Dave Heaton (R-Mt. Pleasant) is retiring after 24 years in office**

District 87 (Portion of Des Moines County)

  • Tim Goodwin (R)
  • Travis Inghram (R)
  • State Rep. Dennis Cohoon (D)

District 88 (Louisa, Portions of Des Moines & Muscatine Counties)

  • State Rep. David Kerr (R)
  • Noah Canady (D)
  • Lanny Hillyard (D)


  • Ron Corbett (R)
  • Governor Kim Reynolds (R)
  • Nate Boulton (D)
  • Cathy Glasson (D)
  • Fred Hubbell (D)
  • Andrea McGuire (D)
  • John Norris (D)
  • Ross Wilburn (D)
  • Marco Battaglia (Lib)
  • Jake Porter (Lib)

Secretary of State

  • Paul Pate (R) (Incumbent)
  • Deidre DeJear (D)
  • Jim Mowrer (D)

State Auditor

  • Mary Mosiman (R) (Incumbent)
  • Rob Sand (D)

State Treasurer

  • Michael Fitzgerald (D) (Incumbent)

Secretary of Agriculture

  • Ray Gaesser (R)
  • Chad Ingels (R)
  • Craig Lang (R)
  • Mike Naig (R) (Incumbent)
  • Dan Zumbach (R)
  • Tim Gannon (D)

**Naig appointed in 2018 to replace Bill Northey, who took a position in the USDA**

Attorney General

  • Tom Miller (D) (Incumbent)

2nd Congressional District

  • Ginny Caligiuri (R)
  • Christopher Peters (R)
  • Congressman Dave Loebsack (D)