Macomb 91.3fm - Galesburg 90.7fm Keokuk 89.5fm - Burlington 106.3fm
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Every Vote Counts in Macomb Election

Rich Egger

There will be two run-off elections for Macomb city council seats.

The closest race in the February 26 primary took place in the Ward 2, where Western Illinois University student Steve Wailand edged incumbent Kay Hill, 17 to 16.

However, County Clerk Gretchen DeJaynes pointed out that in order to win outright in the Macomb primary, a candidate must earn 50% of the vote plus one. In the second ward, 33 votes were cast, which means 16.5 is equivalent to 50%. The “plus one” brings the threshold to 17.5 votes needed to win.

Neither candidate reached that mark so a run-off election will be held in April.

No one received 50% of the vote in the Ward 5 either. 115 votes were cast in that ward. Current aldermen Clay Hinderliter led the way with 53 votes, or around 46%. Current alderman Tim Lobdell received 33 votes and Macomb High School senior David Dunn received 29.

As the top two vote-getters, Hinderliter and Lobdell will square off in April.

The winners of the other two races are incumbents Dennis Moon and Ryan Hansen.

Moon easily won re-election as alderman at large by turning aside a challenge from former alderman Ed Lavin, 263 to 176 (60% to 40%).

Hansen ran unopposed for Ward 1 alderman and received all 32 votes cast in the ward.

Rich is TSPR's News Director.