Macomb 91.3fm - Galesburg 90.7fm Keokuk 89.5fm - Burlington 106.3fm
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Tri States Public Radio and NPR News will provide you with updated stories from all of our local and national elections between now and November. The NPR News element below will be updated constantly, and will sometimes provide live coverage and audio from important events leading up to the November elections. You can find all of our local coverage after the jump.Election 2012 News From NPR

Candidate Filing – Southeast Iowa

Elections - 500_0.jpg

There will be just two contested races for county office during the June 5th Primary in Lee and Des Moines Counties.

One of the contests is in the 5th Supervisor District in Lee County. 

Chairperson Janet Fife-LaFrenz is being challenged by former Supervisor Matt Pflug in the Democratic Primary.  Keokuk Alderman Mike O’Connor will likely face the winner as he was the lone Republican to file in District 5.

Five men filed the paperwork required to fill two seats on the Des Moines County Board of Supervisors.  The list does not include incumbent Dan Cahill, who chose not to seek reelection.

The Democratic Primary on June 5 will feature incumbent Bob Beck, Jim Cary and former Supervisor Ben Diewold.  The top two vote-getters will move on to November to face Republicans James Seaberg and Darwin Bunger.



Des Moines County Board of Supervisors

(2 seats)

Bob Beck (D) - Incumbent

Darwin Bunger (R)

Jim Cary (D)

Benjamin Diewold (D)

James Seaberg (R)


Des Moines County Sheriff

Mike Johnstone (D) – Incumbent


Des Moines County Auditor

Carol Copeland (D) – Incumbent


Lee County Board of Supervisors

District 1

Ron Fedler (D)


District 4

Gary Folluo (D) – Incumbent


District 5

Janet Fife La-Frenz (D) – Incumbent

Mike O’Connor (R)

Matt Pflug (D)

Jason Parrott is a former reporter at Tri States Public Radio.