Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

New Mayor for Burlington

City of Burlington website
Jon Billups

Burlington city council members choose the mayor from among their ranks, and this week they voted unanimously in favor of Jon Billups. He will serve a two-year term.

Billups told council members he will strive to build consensus in the community, in city government, and on the council.

“I know that unified the five of us, even though we have different opinions on different things, will work toward the best direction of the city,” he said.

Billups, who was the only person nominated for the position, also said he has big shoes to fill. He replaces Shane McCampbell, who did not run for another term on the city council.

Also at their meeting, city council members chose Lynda Graham-Murray to be mayor pro-tem. She edged out Matthew Rinker, 3-to-2.

After the vote, Graham-Murray said, “I’m really excited. Thank you for everyone that had confidence in me and voted for me. I’ll try not to let you down.”

Graham-Murray replaces Annie Wilson, who -- like McCampbell -- did not run for re-election.

Rich is TSPR's News Director.