Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Tri States Public Radio and NPR News will provide you with updated stories from all of our local and national elections between now and November. The NPR News element below will be updated constantly, and will sometimes provide live coverage and audio from important events leading up to the November elections. You can find all of our local coverage after the jump.Election 2012 News From NPR

More Hancock County Candidates


Even with seven people running for six seats on the Hamilton School Board, the field for the April 9 election came up a little short.

The reason is that Nick Capaldo is the lone candidate for two seats representing residents living outside of Montebello Township.

The lack of a second candidate means the Hamilton School Board will have to appoint someone after the election.

Meanwhile, there are four open seats inside Montebello Township.

Incumbents Rebecca Bliss and Brad Hartweg will face off with newcomers John Fox and Wade Plowman for a pair of 2-year terms. 

The only names on the ballot for a pair of 4-year terms are incumbents Doug Summers and Tim Dupree.

Two incumbents, Craig Huls and Tom Schilson, chose not to seek re-election to the Hamilton School Board.


Warsaw residents appear to be satisfied with the work of their local school board as there are just four names on the April 9 ballot for four seats.

The field includes incumbents Steve Lucie, Scott Bauman, Jeff Harness and newcomer Jason Jacquot, who would replace Darrell Altheide, who chose not to seek re-election.


The top spot in Hamilton City Government is on the line during the April 9 election.

Former Mayor Dave Cornelius and Steve Lowman want to replace current mayor Steve Woodruff, who will not seek another term in office.

There are five other races on the ballot but no one filed to run against the incumbents: City Clerk Michelle Dorothy, City Treasurer Cindy DuPree, Alderman Bev Boone, Alderman Bob Eddings, & Alderman Bill Johnson.

Jason Parrott is a former reporter at Tri States Public Radio.