Macomb 91.3fm - Galesburg 90.7fm Keokuk 89.5fm - Burlington 106.3fm
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Field Set for Special Election for SE Iowa House Seat


A special election will be held August 8 to fill the 82nd District seat in the Iowa House of Representatives. Four people met Friday’s filing deadline to appear on the ballot.

  • Phil Miller (D-Fairfield)
  • Travis Harris (R-Moulton)
  • Joshua Miller (Lib-Fairfield)
  • Edward Hee III (Cons-Cantril)

The seat became vacant due to the death of Rep. Curt Hanson (D-Fairfield). Hanson, 73, died in his home in early June. He served in the Iowa House for nearly eight years, winning re-election last November.
The 82nd House District includes all of Van Buren and Davis Counties as well as a portion of Jefferson County, including the city of Fairfield.

The Van Buren County Auditor’s Office said Monday afternoon that it’s already receiving requests for absentee ballots. It hopes to have the ballots in hand before the end of the month.

That would provide for roughly one week of in-office early voting, including eight hours on Saturday, August 5.

Jason Parrott is a former reporter at Tri States Public Radio.